I’m Tired of Political Correctness

For a long time I subscribed to the old “do unto others” portion of being “politically correct”. Which really when you boil down to it, isn’t. What it really seems to denote is, I am going to go totally out of my way just to make sure I don’t hurt someone else’s feelings whose feelings I really couldn’t and shouldn’t care about because they are fundamentally,  factually and logically wrong.

We have entered the age of hypersensitivity. Too many self-entitled weenies who “boo-hoo my feeling are hurt because you disagree with me you insentive person you“.

What about mirror image umbrage? My feelings are hurt that you state that I hurt your feelings so I demand redress. Where does this all end?

Maybe it’s me, but sometimes you have to call a spade a spade. (and no that isn’t a racial colloquialism. See how this gets out of hand?) Every time you open your mouth or put pen to pad or fingers to keyboard or voice to transcription software (have I left anyone out? Is everyone feeling included here?) You have to explain/second guess your intended thoughts.

One could almost envy the right wing in their staunch defiance of political correctness.

Except when you disagree with them. Then they play the “persecution card” which really is the same thing.

Why are atheists persecuting us, the christian majority?” “What do liberals have against family values?“(But that’s another topic: Spinning Persecution)

So why don’t we all simply say what we mean and then hash it all out? Let’s get all the issues out on the table and discuss them like adults who don’t require referees for every segment of their lives.

We may walk away from the table agreeing that we can’t agree, but at least we’d be in agreement that the other party is simply being idiotic. ;p

Now that isn’t so hard is it?

About NoSacredCow

Irreverent atheist, skeptic, independent voter, social liberal, fiscal conservative, music lover, avid reader, engager in ruthless repartee, just an extra in somebody else's movie...
This entry was posted in Atheism, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

