‘Tis the Season…Horse Pucky

It’s that time of year again, actually it’s been that time of year since parents were raiding their kids’ trick or treat bags back on October 31st. (Thanksgiving just seems to be a belly stretching exercise to prep for the true gluttony.)

That’s right, it’s the capitalist’s wet dream, the evangelical’s raison d’être and the 501(c)3’s honeypot.

I just call it WINTER. They call it Christmas. Some object to calling it Xmas which we won’t bother to get into other than to say the people who object to it the most are people who don’t understand it means the exact same thing. It isn’t taking the “Christ out of Christmas” it’s using a Greek alliteration for Christ. I’m amazed at how many people who claim to be fervent believers know so little about their own religion’s history. (and an atheist shall teach them)

So everyone should quickly surmise that I don’t celebrate Christmas. I don’t celebrate Christmas for the same reason my Dad doesn’t celebrate Hanukkah or Kwanzaa or Solstice…

To me it’s another made up Hallmark holiday perpetuated by Wall Street. It really didn’t get to be the way it is in America until the 19th century. Before that it was a fairly quiet holiday for the faithful and not the monstrosity it has become today. Go read about how the Puritan’s in New England celebrated it.

Oh wait, they didn’t. They suppressed it. Talk about “holier than thou”

Some folks feel the need to force it upon you regardless of your faith, or in my case, absence of it. My Dad and I play this little tug of war when he forces Christmas upon me. I ask only that if he feels the need to give then make a charitable donation to a children’s charity in my name. But he ignores it and gives me gifts anyway. In response I give to charities. In honor of my Aunt and Uncle (I’ve said before it’s a very small family) I gave to National Military Family Association and for my Dad and stepmother I gave to Little Kids Rock .

But this isn’t what I’m here about in today’s post. I just wanted to share a couple of things for the faithless as well as the faithful.

First: Yesterday I’m having a whiskey (Yummm, 10 year old single malt Irish whiskey, my current favorite, no advertising plugs here but my doctor said I could within reason) and I’m going through my mail. I open a Christmas card from my buddy and his family and the whiskey promptly passed through my nose. It burned, but in a good way. Jimmy said the card was Jan’s idea. I knew there was something I liked about her. Their daughter Kelly is into chorale or something. Their last name has been redacted to protect…whatever.

Favorite Christmas Card 2011

A “holier than thou Christmas season”. Gotta love it.

And speaking of Jimmy, some years back I was going through my rather large collection of music and realized that I had a crap-load of Christmas music. (one of these days I’m going to remix little drummer boy and incorporate some Neil Peart drum solos.) So I thought it would be nice to share them in the form of Christmas mix cards for close friends and family. (very small group and a very small family, one sneeze could wipe us all out.) So for a few years I sent out Xmas mixes. (love the music, hate the holiday)

Jimmy was saying that he was no longer able to play his favorite all time Xmas mix so I’m going to share it here for the holiday before I take it down. (Somebody somewhere will get pissed about it I’m sure.) This one is good for curling up in front of the fire with a potent cocktail or two, your mate, significant other or pet (whatever you’ve got) and kick back and relax. Picture in your mind what it’s like after the dinner had been eaten, the dishes drying in the rack, the relatives sent packing and the exhaustion of the chaos that was Christmas day and chill.

Jazzy Little Xmas

Tomorrow I’ll post some Christmas Blues for those of us that don’t feel that warm glow.

On Sunday it will be a special Rockin’ Christmas treat.

Peace!

About NoSacredCow

Irreverent atheist, skeptic, independent voter, social liberal, fiscal conservative, music lover, avid reader, engager in ruthless repartee, just an extra in somebody else's movie...
This entry was posted in Atheism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘Tis the Season…Horse Pucky

  1. Vodka Brands says:

    What’s up, just wanted to say, I loved this article. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  2. Pingback: Got the Christmas Blues? | nosacredc0w

Leave a Reply

